Easy Facebook Security tip for everyone

Facebook accounts get hacked and information is stolen. It’s a fact of life. It’s combination of simply guessing, sophisticating phishing attempts, and good ol’ fashioned malware (viruses, trojans, spyware, etc.) . A complete rundown of the ways the bad guys get the information can be found here.

One tool to arm yourself in this war is a new feature in Facebook settings called Account Security. The full details can be found in this post. Simply go to the right hand side of your Facebook page while logged in, then go to “Account Settings” and then “Account Security“. Click “Change” and then click “Yes” to receive notifications from logins on new devices.

The first time you log into Facebook on your device after making the change, Facebook will ask you to name the device. You’ll then get an email to your primary email address listed with Facebook. Each device you use: iPad, iPhone, laptop, will give you such warnings.

My email notification looked like this

Hi Dave Greenbaum,

A new device named “**” was added to your Facebook account (Today at 10:56am).

If this device was added without your permission, please remove it from your account immediately, then change your password.

If this was an authorized login, please ignore this email.

To remove this device and change your password:

1. Log in to your Facebook account.
2. Click the Account tab at the top of the screen and select “Account Settings” from the drop-down menu.
3. Scroll down to the Account Security section and click the “change” link.
4. Find the name of the unauthorized device and click the “remove” link next to it.
5. Scroll up to the Password section of the Account Settings page.
6. Click the “change” link on the right and follow the instructions.

Thanks,
The Facebook Team”

**I removed the name of the device and put the email in italics
While this won’t prevent a hack of your account, at least if you suddenly get a notification email and you HADN’T logged in with a new device, you’ll know to change your password and possibly check your computer for malware.

Just to be safe though, I’m sure the bad guys will exploit this feature. They’ll trick you into thinking your account was hacked and include a link to reset your account. OOPS. That’s a phishing attempt. If you think your account anywhere has been compromised, don’t click the link in the email. Always surf directly to the site.

2 Responses to "Easy Facebook Security tip for everyone"

  • michael says:
  • dgreenbaum says:
Leave a Comment

Copyright © DoctorDave Computer Repair in Lawrence Kansas |   intrepidity Theme by Top Blog Formula on WordPress |   Log In